Page tools



Last updated: 05/11/2017
IMAGE - Zones de contraintes
Constraint zones

Phone lines for residents

Dedicated Vallée-Chaline mobile line – Ville de Saint-Lazare

Phone : 514-250-0964


Public security ministry

Direction régionale de la Montérégie et Estrie
165, rue Jacques-Cartier Nord
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec) J3B 6S9

Responsable : Jean-Sébastien Forest, directeur

Phone : 450-346-3200

Vallée-Chaline: field inspections on Friday, May 12, 2017


SAINT-LAZARE (Québec), on Thursday, May 11th, 2017
. - The City of Saint-Lazare wishes to inform Vallée-Chaline residents that field inspections of the banks concerned by the stabilization work along the Quinchien River, will be done on Friday, May 11 by membres of the Fire department in order to see if any changes have occurred following the rising level of the Quinchien river and the water flow. As a precautionary measure, we ask residents to communicate any sign of road cracks or erosion, changes in culverts, houses and meanders, directly to the city at 450-424-8000 during regular business hours, or by dialing 3-1-1 after hours or 9-1-1 in case of emergency.

We thank you for your collaboration.

Vallée-Chaline: drone inspections to start this spring April through June 2017

Notice to residents

SAINT-LAZARE (Québec), on Tuesday, April 11th, 2017. - The City of Saint-Lazare wishes to inform Vallée-Chaline residents that drone inspections of the banks concerned by the stabilization work along the Quinchien River, will start this spring and will also take place in the fall, the more critical periods for landslides. These inspections will continue until the work is realized. 

This spring, the drone operated by Drone Box, a firm appointed by the Public Security Ministry, will fly at 10-day intervals, when sun conditions are optimal, from mid to late April until early June. The first image capture is planned to be on Thursday April 20, 2017, starting 8:30 am. Shots where properties or people are recognizable will not be used. The drone flies as to not disrupt or disturb human activity and wildlife.

For all the information concerning this work, residents are invited to visit the website at http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/en/zonesdecontraintes, to subscribe to the Vallée-Chaline online newsletter at http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/en/infolettres and to the Community alert system at http://ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/en/alertealacommunaute, where you can choose to receive important notices by landline, mobile phone, text, email or all of the above at once.

For any other question concerning these activities, Vallée-Chaline residents can contact the line which is dedicated to them at 514-250-0964.

Why a drone?

The surveillance is conducted mainly for the purpose of monitoring slopes along Quinchien River and one of its affluents with a view to modifying sectors that have suffered severe erosion, small rockslides at the base of the slope or landslides. This type of surveillance is standard in prevention projects.

The images captured will be analyzed by geotechnical engineers from the MTMDET who will monitor changes to the concerned watercourses. If a landslide is detected, the Municipality will be immediately notified so that they may inform residents who are directly affected.  

It is essential that citizens inform the Town of Saint-Lazare if they witness any landslides or any early warning signs of landslides on their properties. 

For more information on what constitutes an early warning sign of a landslide, please visit the Web site of the Ministère de la Sécurité publique.

Vallée-Chaline : Minister Lucie Charlebois annonces 5.9 millions

This Monday, April 3, 2017, Minister for Rehabilitation, Youth Protection, Public Health and Healthy Living and Minister responsible for the Montérégie region, Lucie Charlebois announced the conclusion of a financial agreement between the government of Quebec and the City of Saint-Lazare in the name of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy and Minister of Public Security, Minister responsible for the Montréal region, Mr. Martin Coiteux and for the Minister of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight Against Climate Change, Mr. David Heurtel.

Read the press release (French)

View the press conference

Meeting for Vallée-Chaline property owners last March 28, 2017

Slope stabilization work along Quinchien River and one of its affluents
Press release -March 29, 2017

Saint-Lazare (Québec), Wednesday, March 29, 2017 – Over 120 property owners responded to the invitation launched for a meeting on March 28, 2017 to address the slope stabilization work to be done in the Vallée-Chaline sector. Divided into two parts, the evening aimed to, first, inform property owners of the extent of the work to be carried out and, second, specifically address several of the properties located along Quinchien River. A total of 42 properties are directly affected by the stabilization work, estimated to cost $8,000,000.

Slated to begin in the winter of 2018–2019, the work to be undertaken in the 21 meanders over a distance of 1.5 km will help stabilize the slope in order to prevent an initial landslide and eliminate the possibility of changes over time. The sector’s residents should expect work to last over 15 weeks and more than 7,000 truckloads to remove the infamous “sensitive clay” that is responsible for major landslides. In total, 77,000 m³ of this material will be removed from the sector and replaced in large part by rockfill. This technical solution, put forth by the engineers from the Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de  l’Électrification des transports (MTMDET), has been used elsewhere in Quebec to strengthen slopes. It takes into consideration the potential of river flooding for a 0-100 year period and increases protection against the assessed risk by 30%. The MTMDET’s engineers individually evaluated all of the sites over several months and took into consideration all of the available solutions. In the end, the solutions that were chosen are those deemed the most appropriate for the situation. The work to be done requires the temporary or permanent removal of accessory buildings, above-ground pools and septic systems on several lots as well as the reprofiling of land slopes between 0 and 14 metres (6 m on average). Once the work is completed, lots will be revegetated and reforested using native species.

During the evening, 30 of the 42 concerned property owners were in attendance for an update on the situation. The MTMDET provided each of them with a fact sheet about their properties, illustrating the impact of the stabilization work using an aerial image and a scale plan to show reprofiling angles. The property owners were also invited to book individual and personalized meetings with representatives from the Town, the Ministère de la sécurité publique and the MTMDET for this morning, Wednesday, March 29, 2017 or Tuesday, April 11 between 9:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Affected properties are mainly located on Charbonneau, Chaline, Du Chêne and Du Calypso streets as well as on Place Cardin.

Property owners who were unable to attend can access the information on the Town’s Web site at http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/zonesdecontraintes at the end of the week of March 27, 2017. 

They are also invited to share their concerns and questions with representatives from the Town and those from the Ministère de la Sécurité publique. Affected property owners who were not present at the meeting will be contacted. 

Town of Saint-Lazare

514 250-0964

Ministère de la sécurité publique

Direction régionale de la Montérégie et Estrie

165 Jacques-Cartier Street North
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec) J3B 6S9

Person in charge: Jean-Sébastien Forest, Director

Telephone: 450 346-3200

 

Recall that, at the Town’s request, the Vallée-Chaline sector had been included as part of a constraint area (landslide-prone area) following signs of erosion along Quinchien River. Over the last few years, numerous resources and stakeholders from various departments and levels of government have been involved in developing the solution presented on Tuesday, March 28, 2017. Note that 74% of the cost of the work estimated at $8,000,000 will be covered as part of the 2013-2020 Climate Change Action Plan (2013-2020 CCAP) made possible through the financial support of the Green Fund—representing an amount of $5,925,000—and the remaining $2,080,000 will be absorbed by the Town’s accumulated non-affected surplus.   

Costs of slope stabilizing work in the Vallée-Chaline residential sector

Saint-Lazare will cover the remaining cost using the accumulated surplus  
Press release - March 16, 2017 

Saint-Lazare (Québec), Wednesday, March 15, 2017 – Following the adoption of resolution number 02-098-17, on February 21st, 2017, authorizing the City of Saint-Lazare to conclude an agreement with the Ministry of Public Security ministry in order to finance 74 % of the work required to stabilize certain slopes of the banks along the Quinchien River and one of its tributaries in the Vallée-Chaline sector, Council is happy to announce they will finance the remaining 26% of the cost straight from the non allocated operating surplus, better known as the " accumulated surplus ".

“The residents of Vallée-Chaline have been through a great deal over the last few years with respect to this issue, claims the councillor of this district, Ms. Brigitte Asselin. They have experienced more than their fair share of worry. I am happy that the council has agreed that residents’ not need to worry about the financial concerns as well”, added Ms. Asselin.

It must be noted that the cost to realize this work is presently estimated at $8,000,000. The Quebec government will take care of $5,920,000 and the City, $2,080,000. The work aims at stabilizing 1.5 km of bank along the Quinchien river.

“Members of council came to this conclusion considering that the work will eliminate potentially aggravating factors in this sector, noted Mayor Robert Grimaudo , but also continuously ensure the safety of individuals, as well as private and public property, including existing public infrastructures such as roads, the water network and other public services (electricity, telecommunications, etc.). The Quinchien river is an important infrastructure that services residents of the town, and a great part of the work will be done on land that belongs to the town, added Mayor Robert Grimaudo. The Town therefore has great interest in covering the remaining costs,” he concluded. 

An invitation to the information session on Tuesday, March 28, 2017 was mailed out on Monday, March 13 to property owners in the Vallée-Chaline sector. Residents are invited to register online or by phone. Proof of residence will be required to attend the meeting. 

The Town plans on meeting the media. An invitation should follow shortly.

Vallée Chaline: special meeting on Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Saint-Lazare (Québec), Monday, February 20, 2017 – At the request of Mayor Robert Grimaudo, members of the Saint-Lazare Council are summoned to a special session on Tuesday, February 21st, 2017 at 7 p.m. at the Community Centre located at 1301 Rue du Bois to immediately begin all required steps for the conclusion of an agreement with the Security Ministry (MSP) for the realization of stabilization work in the sector of Vallée Chaline.

“This is great news” for the concerned Chaline Valley residents', says Mayor Grimaudo. Residents will be convened in the upcoming weeks to an information session given by the Town and its government partners, added the mayor.

The only other point on the agenda will be a resolution showing the towns commitment to modify its municipal by-laws to allow the stabilization work required by the Ministry in the affected zones. The Town will insure of its compliance with the MRC Vaudreuil-Soulanges’ Master Plan by-laws.

Rue de Carillon : permanent exit

Since the opening of Rue de Carillon in November 2014, Vallée-Chaline sector is not landlocked by a railroad track at the level of Chemin Saint-Louis anymore. The temporary emergency exit at the end of Rue Chaline is now closed.The road signs guiding Vallée Chaline residents towards the emergency exit will be removed soon.

Historic of the creation of a 2nd permanent exit

This road was built in two (2) phases and enabled the Town not only to put a stop to the train whistle sounded at the unprotected level crossing on Chemin Duhamel at the Chemin Sainte-Angélique intersection (phase 1) but also to remedy the “landlocked” problem caused by the railroad track (phase 2). The phase 2 involved expropriation, the purchase of land, the transfer of a private road and the construction of a new street.

Piezometers installation

On September 22, 2014, Ministère des Transports (or a mandated firm) has proceed to the installation of piezometers in Vallée-Chaline sector for ongoing analysis.

For more information, contact Daniel Boyer, Chief, Public Security and Fire Department at 450-424-8000 ex. 208.

History

June 3, 2014       Town council resolution concerning a request for financial assistance to the Québec government under its 2013-2020 Framework for disaster risk prevention for preventive stabilization work in the Vallée-Chaline sector.

May 21, 2014     Letter of intent from the executive director regarding a request for financial assistance submitted to the Ministry of Public Safety.

May 15, 2014     Receipt by the Town of the technical notice from the Québec Ministry of Transport concerning the landslide issue in the Vallée-Chaline sector. Obtain a copy of the technical notice.  

May 14, 2014     Evening session to inform residents of the investigations done by the Québec Ministry of Transport to delineate the zones potentially prone to landslides in the Vallée-Chaline sector.

September 17, 2012       Evening information session held at the request of the residents in that sector. The Town asks the Québec Ministry of Transport to clarify the nature of the risks using more accurate tools.

2008                      Adoption by the Town of regulations in line with the RCM’s revised plan.

2004                      Revision by the RCM of the land use plan (inclusion of Vallée-Chaline with the data and tools available at that time, i.e. using aerial photos and existing geological and geomorphological data (broad brush-approach).

2002                      Request submitted by the Town to the RCM for the inclusion of Vallée-Chaline and its surroundings as an area potentially prone to landslides because of signs of erosion along the banks of the Quinchien River.

Land-slide prone areas

In Saint-Lazare, there are four main landslide-prone areas: a residential sector along the Quinchien River (parts of Vallée Chaline and Sainte-Angélique, Duhamel and Legault roads and Route de la Cité-des-jeunes) and three agricultural sectors (small portions of Chemin du Fief and Chemin Saint-Louis). In total, slightly more than one hundred properties are concerned.

What is a landslide?

It is the downward movement under the force of gravity of a mass of soil, sweeping all or part of a slope (sloping piece of land) along with it. A landslide can occur when the stability conditions of a slope are modified naturally (erosion) or artificially (excavating, backfilling). Most landslides occur where there is a slope, usually along the clay banks of waterways. In 40% of cases, they are triggered by human activity, which is why it is important to consult the Environment Department, avoid any inappropriate human activity, look for warning signs and report them to the Town.

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

IMAGE - Zones de contraintes
Zones de contraintes

Lignes téléphoniques pour les résidents

Ligne cellulaire dédiée à Vallée-Chaline – Ville de Saint-Lazare
Téléphone : 514 250-0964

Ministère de la sécurité publique 
Direction régionale de la Montérégie et Estrie
165, rue Jacques-Cartier Nord
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec) J3B 6S9

Responsable : Jean-Sébastien Forest, directeur

Téléphone : 450 346-3200

Vallée-Chaline : inspections sur le terrain le vendredi 12 mai 2017


SAINT-LAZARE (Québec), le jeudi 11 mai 2017. -
La Ville de Saint-Lazare souhaite informer ses résidents que des inspections seront effectuées sur le terrain par des membres de l’équipe du Service de la sécurité incendie dans le but de vérifier l’état des talus et tout changement à la suite de la crue des eaux et du débit de la rivière Quinchien. À titre préventif, nous demandons aux résidents de signaler tout signe de fissure ou d’érosion aux abords des chaussées et ponceaux, maisons et méandres de cours d’eau, directement  à la ville au 450 424-8000 aux heures d’ouverture régulières, au 3-1-1 après les heures et au 9-1-1 en cas d’urgence.

Nous vous remercions de votre collaboration.

Vallée-Chaline : les inspections par drone débutent ce printemps d’avril à juin 2017

Avis aux résidents

SAINT-LAZARE (Québec), le mardi 11 avril 2017. - La Ville de Saint-Lazare souhaite informer ses résidents que des inspections de talus des berges de la rivière Quinchien, situées dans le secteur visé par les travaux de stabilisation, seront effectuées par drone au printemps ainsi qu’à l'automne, les deux périodes de l’année considérées plus critiques pour les glissements de terrain. Ces inspections se poursuivront jusqu'à ce que les travaux soient réalisés.

Ce printemps, les survols se feront dès la mi ou la fin du mois d’avril jusqu’au début du mois de juin 2017 par Drone Box, la firme mandatée par le Ministère de la Sécurité publique. La première journée de captation prévue est le jeudi 20 avril 2017. L'intervalle entre les survols est d'environ dix (10) jours, effectués lorsque les conditions d'ensoleillement seront optimales. Aucune prise de vues où sont identifiables des biens ou des personnes ne seront utilisées. Le drone survole de façon à ne pas perturber les activités humaines et de la faune.

Pour tous les renseignements concernant ces travaux, les résidents sont invités à consulter le site Internet à http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/zonesdecontraintes, à s’inscrire à l’infolettre virtuelle de Vallée-Chaline http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/infolettres et au système d’alerte à la communauté à http://ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/alertealacommunaute où vous pourrez choisir les moyens par lesquels vous souhaitez recevoir tous les avis importants soit par téléphone filaire, téléphone mobile, texto, courriel ou même tous ces moyens en même temps.

Pour toute autre question concernant ces activités, les résidents de Vallée-Chaline peuvent contacter la ligne qui leurs est dédiée au 514 250-0964. 

Pourquoi un drone?

La surveillance consiste principalement à suivre l’évolution des pentes le long de la rivière Quinchien et d'un de ses affluents qui ferait en sorte de modifier les secteurs où des travaux de prévention seront réalisés tels que de l’érosion sévère, de petits décrochements à la base des talus ou des glissements de terrain. Ce type de surveillance est standard dans tous les cas de projets de prévention.

Les images captées seront analysées par les ingénieurs en géotechnique du MTMDET afin de vérifier l’évolution des cours d’eau concernés. Si un glissement de terrain était décelé, la Municipalité sera avisée afin d'informer les résidents directement concernés.

Il est important que les citoyens signalent à la Ville de Saint-Lazare tout glissement ou signe précurseur qui pourrait être observé sur leur terrain.

Pour plus de renseignements au sujet des signes précurseurs, consulter le site Internet du ministère de la Sécurité publique.

Vallée-Chaline : la ministre Lucie Charlebois annonce 5,9 millions

Ce lundi 3 avril, la ministre déléguée à la Réadaptation, à la Protection de la jeunesse, à la Santé publique et aux Saines habitudes de vie, ministre responsable de la région de la Montérégie et députée de Soulanges, madame Lucie Charlebois, annonçait la conclusion d’une entente financière entre le gouvernement du Québec et la Ville de Saint-Lazare au nom du ministre des Affaires municipales et de l’Occupation du territoire, ministre de la Sécurité publique et ministre responsable de la région de Montréal, M. Martin Coiteux, et du ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, M. David Heurtel.

Lire le communiqué de presse

Visualisez les vidéos

Vallée-Chaline : rencontre à l’intention des propriétaires le 28 mars 2017


Travaux de stabilisation de talus le long de la rivière Quinchien et un de ses affluents
Communiqué de presse - 29 mars 2017
Voir le matériel de présentation

Saint-Lazare (Québec), le mercredi 29 mars 2017 – Ce sont plus de 120 propriétaires qui auront répondu à l’invitation lancée pour une rencontre concernant des travaux de stabilisation du sol dans le secteur de Vallée-Chaline le mardi 28 mars 2017. Divisée en 2 parties, la soirée aura permis dans un premier temps de montrer l’ensemble des travaux aux propriétaires présents et, dans un deuxième, d’adresser la situation particulière de plusieurs terrains en marge de la rivière Quinchien. En effet, 42 propriétés sont directement touchées par ces travaux, dont les coûts sont estimés à 8 000 000 $.

Prévus pour débuter au cours de l’hiver 2018-2019, les travaux qui seront entrepris dans 21 méandres sur une distance de 1,5 km, permettront d’améliorer la stabilité du talus pour contrer un  premier glissement et d’éliminer la possibilité d’évolution dans le temps. Les résidents du secteur devront s’attendre à des travaux qui dureront plus de 15 semaines et à plus de 7 000 voyages de camions qui sortiront cette fameuse « argile sensible au remaniement » responsable des grands glissements de terrain. Au total, 77 000 m³ de ce matériel sera sorti du secteur et remplacé en grande partie par de l’enrochement. Cette solution technique, proposée par les ingénieurs du Ministère des Transports, de la Mobilité durable et de  l’Électrification des transports (MTMDET), serait utilisée ailleurs au Québec pour équilibrer les forces dans une pente. Elle prend en compte les crues de la rivière 0-100 ans et offre une protection bonifiée de 30 % sur le risque évaluée. Les ingénieurs du MTMDET ont analysé individuellement, pendant plusieurs mois, tous les sites et toutes les solutions disponibles. Celles proposées sont les plus appropriées. Les travaux nécessiteront le réaménagement temporaire, ou permanent, de bâtiments accessoires, de piscines hors-terre, d’installations septiques sur plusieurs terrains, ainsi que le reprofilage de la pente des terrains de 0 à 14 mètres de hauteur (en moyenne 6 m). Après les travaux, la revégétalisation et le reboisement sont prévus avec des espèces indigènes.

Lors de la soirée 30 des 42 propriétaires visés étaient présents pour accueillir la nouvelle. Le MTMDET a remis à chaque propriétaire une fiche de leur propriété précisant l’impact sous forme de vue aérienne et de plan de coupe pour montrer les angles de reprofilage. Les propriétaires ont également été invités à réserver du temps pour des rencontres individuelles et personnalisées avec des représentants de la ville, du ministère de la sécurité publique et du MTMDET ce matin le mercredi 29 mars 2017 ainsi que le mardi 11 avril entre 9 h et 16 h. Les propriétés visées sont principalement situées sur la rue Charbonneau, la rue Chaline, la rue du Chêne, la rue du Calypso, et la Place Cardin.

Pour ceux qui ne pouvaient être présents, l’information sera disponible sur le site Internet de la ville http://www.ville.saint-lazare.qc.ca/zonesdecontraintes plus tard dans la semaine du 27 mars 2017.

Les propriétaires sont également invités à soumettre leurs préoccupations et questions aux représentants de la ville et du Ministère de la Sécurité publique. Les propriétaires visés et non-présents seront contactés.

Ville de Saint-Lazare
514 250-0964

Ministère de la sécurité publique
Direction régionale de la Montérégie et Estrie
165, rue Jacques-Cartier Nord
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu (Québec) J3B 6S9

Responsable : Jean-Sébastien Forest, directeur

Téléphone : 450 346-3200

Rappelons qu’à la demande de la Ville, le secteur de Vallée-Chaline avait été inclus dans une zone de contraintes potentiellement exposée aux mouvements de terrain à la suite de signes d’érosion en marge de la rivière Quinchien. Depuis les dernières années, de nombreuses ressources et de nombreux intervenants de divers ministères et paliers de gouvernements ont été mis à contribution pour développer la solution présentée le mardi 28 mars 2017. Notons que 74% des coûts des travaux, estimés à 8 000 000 $, seront assumés dans le cadre du Plan d’action 2013-2020 sur les changements climatiques (PACC 2013-2020) avec l’appui financier du Fonds vert soit 5 925 000 $, et le solde de 26%, à même l’excédent de fonctionnement non affecté de la ville soit 2 080 000 $.

Coûts des travaux de stabilisation dans le secteur résidentiel de Vallée-Chaline

Saint-Lazare assumera le solde de la facture à même le « surplus accumulé »
Communiqué de presse - le 16 mars 2017

Saint-Lazare (Québec), le mercredi 15 mars 2017 – À la suite de l’adoption de la résolution n° 02-098-17, le 21 février 2017, autorisant la Ville de Saint-Lazare à conclure une entente avec le ministère de la Sécurité publique aux fins de financer 74% des travaux de stabilisation de talus le long de la rivière Quinchien et un de ses affluents dans le secteur Vallée-Chaline, les élus sont heureux d’annoncer le financement de la portion municipale, soit le solde de 26%,  à même l’excédent de fonctionnement non affecté, communément appelé « surplus accumulé ».

« Les résidents de Vallée-Chaline ont été longuement éprouvés dans ce dossier au cours des dernières années, estime la conseillère de ce district, Madame Brigitte Asselin. Ils ont déjà vécu suffisamment d’inquiétudes. Je suis heureuse que les élus aient accepté de soustraire de l’équation les préoccupations financières de ces résidents.», de poursuivre madame Asselin.

Notons que le coût pour la réalisation de l’ensemble des travaux est actuellement évalué à 8 000 000 $. Le gouvernement du Québec prendra en charge 5 920 000 $ et la Ville 2 080 000 $. Ces travaux visent à stabiliser 1,5 km de talus le long de la Rivière Quinchien.

« Les élus en sont venus à cette conclusion considérant que les travaux permettront non seulement d’éliminer les facteurs potentiellement aggravants dans ce secteur, a précisé le maire Robert  Grimaudo, mais également d’assurer en continuité la sécurité des personnes, de la propriété privée et publique, les infrastructures municipales existantes, que ce soit les routes, le réseau d’aqueduc et les autres services publiques (électricité, télécommunications, etc.). La rivière Quinchien est une infrastructure importante qui dessert nos résidents et une grande partie des travaux sera effectué sur les terrains de la ville, souligne le maire Robert Grimaudo. La Ville a donc tout intérêt à assumer le solde. » conclut-il.

Une invitation à se joindre à une soirée d’information le mardi 28 mars 2017 a été acheminée par la poste le lundi 13 mars à tous les propriétaires de Vallée-Chaline. Les résidents seront invités à s’inscrire en ligne ou par téléphone. Une preuve de résidence sera exigée pour assister à la soirée.

La Ville prévoit une rencontre avec les journalistes. Une invitation devrait suivre sous peu.

Vallée Chaline : séance extraordinaire le mardi 21 février 2017

Saint-Lazare (Québec), le lundi 20 février 2017 –  À la demande du maire, Monsieur Robert Grimaudo, les membres du conseil municipal de la Ville de Saint-Lazare sont convoqués en séance extraordinaire le mardi 21 février 2017 à 19 h au centre communautaire situé au 1301, rue du Bois afin d’entamer, sans délai, les démarches requises aux fins de la conclusion d'une entente avec le ministère de la sécurité publique (MSP) pour la réalisation de travaux de stabilisation dans le secteur de la Vallée Chaline.

Le maire Grimaudo parle d'une « excellente nouvelle » pour les résidents concernés de la Vallée Chaline pour qui une séance d'information sera offerte par la Ville en collaboration avec ses partenaires du gouvernement du Québec

Le seul autre point à l'ordre du jour sera un engagement de la Ville de Saint-Lazare à modifier sa réglementation municipale afin d'y inclure les exigences du ministère relativement aux aménagements permis dans les zones touchées. En fait, la Ville s'assurera de la concordance de sa réglementation au schéma d'aménagement révisé de la MRC de Vaudreuil-Soulanges.

Rue de Carillon : sortie permanente

Depuis l’ouverture de la rue de Carillon en novembre 2014, le secteur résidentiel Vallée-Chaline n’est plus enclavé par une voie ferrée à la hauteur du chemin Saint-Louis. La sortie de secours temporaire qui avait été aménagée à l’extrémité de la rue Chaline est donc fermée. La vingtaine de panneaux de signalisation indiquant cette sortie temporaire seront retirés prochainement.


Historique de l’aménagement d’une 2e sortie permanente

L’aménagement de cette route a été réalisé en deux phases. La première phase a été complétée en 2013. Elle a permis de mettre fin au sifflement de train au passage à niveau non protégé du chemin Duhamel à l’angle du chemin Sainte-Angélique.

L’achèvement de la 2e phase, en novembre 2014 a permis de remédier à la problématique de l’enclavement par la voie ferrée. Le dossier comportait un volet expropriation, l’achat de terrains, la cession d’une rue privée, puis la construction d’une nouvelle rue. 

Installation de piézomètres

Le 22 septembre 2014, le ministère des Transports du Québec (ou une firme mandatée par celui-ci) procède à l'installation de piézomètres dans le secteur Vallée-Chaline afin de continuer les analyses.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, communiquez avec Daniel Boyer, directeur, service de la sécurité publique et de la sécurité incendie au 450 424-8000, poste 208.

Historique du dossier

3 juin 2014          Résolution du conseil municipal relativement à une demande financière dans le cadre de prévention des sinistres (2013-2020) du gouvernement du Québec pour des travaux préventifs de stabilisation dans le secteur de la Vallée-Chaline

21 mai 2014        Lettre d’intention du directeur général relativement à une demande financière remise au ministère de la Sécurité publique

15 mai 2014        Réception par la Ville de l’avis technique du concernant la problématique des glissements de terrain dans le secteur de la Vallée-Chaline. Obtenir une copie de l’avis technique.  

14 mai 2014        Soirée d’information afin de présenter les investigations menées par le ministère des Transports du Québec afin de délimiter les zones potentiellement exposées aux glissements de terrains dans le secteur de la Vallée-Chaline.

17 sept. 2012     Soirée d’information, à la demande des résidents du secteur. La Ville demande alors au ministère des Transports du Québec de préciser la nature des risques au moyen d’outils plus précis.

2008                      Adoption par la Ville d’une règlementation en concordance au schéma révisé de la MRC

2004                      Révision par la MRC de schéma d’aménagement (inclusion du secteur de la Vallée-Chaline avec les données et les outils disponibles à l’époque, soit au moyen de photos aériennes et de données géologiques et géomorphologiques existantes,  méthode du pinceau large

2002                      Demande par la Ville à la MRC d’inclure la Vallée-Chaline et ses environs comme une zone de contraintes potentiellement exposée aux mouvements de terrain à la suite de signes d’érosion en marge de la rivière Quinchien 

Secteurs sujets à des glissements de terrain

À Saint-Lazare, on compte principalement quatre secteurs sujets à des glissements de terrain: un secteur résidentiel  qui longe la rivière Quinchien (parties de  la Vallée-Chaline, des chemins Sainte-Angélique, Duhamel, Legault et de la route de la Cité-des-jeunes) et trois secteurs agricoles (petites parties du chemin du Fief et du chemin Saint-Louis). Au total, c’est un peu plus d’une centaine de  propriétés qui sont  touchées.

Qu’est-ce qu’un glissement de terrain?

C’est le mouvement vers le bas d’une masse de sol, sous l’effet de la gravité, entraînant tout ou une partie d’un talus (terrain en pente). Un glissement peut survenir si les conditions d’équilibre d’un talus  sont modifiées naturellement (érosion) ou artificiellement (remblai, déblai). La plupart des glissements s’amorcent principalement en présence d’un talus, particulièrement sur les berges argileuses de cours d’eau. Dans 40 % des cas, ils sont causés par l’activité humaine,  d’où l’importance de consulter le Service de l’environnement, d’éviter toute intervention humaine inappropriée, de surveiller les signes avant-coureurs et d’en aviser la Ville, le cas échéant.

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2017
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000


La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre