Page tools



Last updated: 04/26/2018
IMAGE - Nettoyage du printemps
Spring cleaning

Spring cleaning operation 2018


Saint-Lazare’s spring cleaning operation underway

Saint-Lazare (Quebec), Thursday, April 26, 2018 – The City of Saint-Lazare is aware that the larger quantity of blended abrasives that was spread this year as a result of difficult weather conditions has caused some frustration for many residents since the arrival of the spring season. Although motorists appreciate this abrasive when road conditions are made difficult by alternating snow, sleet, rain and freezing rain, we understand that it can be much less enjoyable once the winter is over. Despite this, sand and stone help the Town keep roadways safe for its residents; indeed, these abrasives are the best ally against icy roads and a better alternative to salt. In fact, not only is salt unsafe for the environment, particularly because it alters water’s salinity and pH and disrupts aquatic life, it also loses its effectiveness since water dissolves and dilutes it (rendering it useless).

Although it began last week, the spring cleaning operation consists mainly of moving leftover stone and sand onto the municipal right-of-way. Teams are working alternately in order to maximize clean-up using a mechanical sweeper in areas that have curbs and sidewalks. Note that the municipal right-of-way consists of the stretch of land located alongside paved roadways, approximately 10 feet wide, that belongs to the town and which must be kept free of all non-conforming obstacles, set-ups or equipment such as landscaping features, decorative stone and sprinkler heads.

The Town does not have the equipment required to collect stone over the 400 km of roadway along its over 7,000 properties. Different options will be considered this fall for possible implementation in 2019.

As such, this year, the Town is again inviting homeowners who are inconvenienced by leftover stone to gather it up in boxes and bring it to the Vaudreuil Ecocentre, where this type of material is collected.

Spring cleaning of your backyard

Do not use green spaces as a dump!

It is strictly forbidden to drop you garden residues, lawn, plants, etc. in Town green spaces such as park, circle and woods.

Composting is a good way to valorize these green residues!  

The spring-cleaning of our 450 municipal streets (200 km x 2 (each side)) usually begins at the end of March. Working teams are giving priority to our main arteries and then pursue with residential districts. Please note that the work primarily consists of sweeping the sand and crushed stones by the roadside. Neither the sand nor the stones will be collected.

Note that certain roads on our territory belong to Transport Quebec including Route de la Cité-des-Jeunes. This road is not cleared by the city.

Transports Québec (Vaudreuil service centre)
450-455-6109
Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2018
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Telephone: 450 424-8000

The Town ·  Municipal services ·  Things to do ·  History, maps & statistics ·  Environment ·  Transportation & public works ·  Public safety  ·   Contact us

IMAGE - Nettoyage du printemps
Nettoyage du printemps

Nettoyage du printemps 2018


L’opération « nettoyage de printemps » amorcée à Saint-Lazare


Saint-Lazare (Québec), le jeudi 26 avril 2018 – La Ville de Saint-Lazare est consciente que le plus grand volume de mélange d’abrasifs répandu cette année, en raison des conditions météorologiques particulières, a provoqué du mécontentement chez plusieurs résidents depuis l’arrivée du printemps. Bien que cet abrasif soit fort apprécié des automobilistes lors des conditions routières difficiles occasionnées par des mélanges de neige, de grésil, de pluie et de pluie verglaçante en alternance, nous comprenons que sa présence l’est moins une fois l’hiver terminé. Bien que désagréables toutefois, la pierre et le sable permettent à la Ville de sécuriser les déplacements des résidents; ils sont les meilleurs alliés pour les routes glacées et une meilleure alternative au sel. Le sel est non seulement nocif pour l’environnement, car il altère la salinité et le pH de l’eau et perturbe la vie aquatique, il perd son efficacité dans l’eau puisqu’il est dissous et dilué (donc inutile).

Bien que l’opération « nettoyage de printemps » ait débuté la semaine dernière, cette opération consiste principalement à pousser la pierre et le sable dans l’emprise municipale où il n’y a pas de bordure de béton ou de trottoirs. Des équipes travaillent en alternance pour maximiser le ramassage au moyen d’un balai mécanique là où des bordures et trottoirs sont présents. Notons que l’emprise municipale est la portion de terrain, en marge de la route asphaltée, d’une largeur d’environ 10 pieds, qui appartient à la ville, et qui doit être exempte de tout obstacle, aménagement ou installation non conforme tels que des aménagements paysagers, des roches décoratives et des têtes de gicleurs.

La Ville n’a pas les équipements requis pour récupérer la pierre sur plus de 400 km de voies de circulation longeant plus de 7 000 propriétés. Différentes options seront examinées cet automne pour l’année 2019.

Cette année encore, la Ville invite les propriétaires incommodés par la pierre à la récupérer dans des boîtes et à l’apporter à l’écocentre de Vaudreuil où ces matériaux sont acceptés.

Entretien saisonnier de votre cour

N’utilisez pas les espaces verts comme dépotoir!

Il est strictement interdit de déverser vos résidus de jardin, gazon, plantes, etc. sur les espaces verts de la Ville tels que parc, cercle, boisé.

Pourquoi ne pas composter ces résidus verts? 

Le Service des infrastructures, division travaux publics entreprend le nettoyage printanier de chaque côté des  rues municipales (200 km x 2 côtés) habituellement à la fin mars. Les équipes de travail effectuent d’abord le nettoyage des artères principales et ensuite, les quartiers résidentiels. Les travaux consistent principalement à repousser le sable et les pierres concassées en bordure de rue.  Ces abrasifs ne sont pas ramassés.

Veuillez noter que certaines routes sur notre territoire appartiennent à Transports Québec dont la route de la Cité-des-Jeunes. Cette route n’est pas entretenue par la Ville.

Transports Québec (centre de services de Vaudreuil)
450 455-6109

Ville de Saint-Lazare © 2002-2018
1960, chemin Sainte-Angélique, Saint-Lazare (Québec), J7T 3A3
Téléphone : 450 424-8000


La Ville  ·   Guichet municipal  ·   Quoi faire  ·   Histoire, cartes et stats  ·   Environnement  ·   Transport et voirie  ·   Sécurité publique   ·    Pour nous joindre